“All the Lost Things” by Kelly Canby

all the lost things

A text that can be used at different levels with various ages. My first attempt was with a Grade One class. Introduce the book by posing the questions of what all the lost things could be.  After reading the book, take the time to discuss the difference between concrete things (glasses, ball, pens) that can be lost or things like courage, patience, sense of humour (characteristics, feelings, ways of being). Young kids (like those in Grade One) may struggle with this but as they classes get older, the discussions could be really interesting.

As a drama activity follow up, have kids sit in a circle and then step into a living picture simply stating things (concrete) that they have lost. “I have lost my favourite jumper”, “I lost my sister’s head band” (with an action).  Next do a living picture (this will be easier for older kids) stating things the child (or maybe family members) have lost that are not concrete things. Encourage them to take the statements further by saying what the effect may be “I lost my confidence when I crashed my bike”, “I lost my stage fright when I danced at the concert and everyone cheered”, “I lost my patience when my sister kept coming into my room so i hit her”.

Into a writing activity, younger students can draw a picture of them filling a jar of something they think someone in their family has lost and that would make their lives better.  Once they have done this, (while they do so circulate asking them to tell you what and who they have drawn to check their understanding) write up on the board:  I would give ______________ a jar full of ____________________.  For older or more capable Kids (grade 2/3) add: because they _________________________ (describe behaviour or action). They then write these under their picture.

Older kids could be encourage to write a poem style piece covering al their family members. A nice opportunity for them to think beyond themselves and possibly become aware of how they can help/be kinder to their family members.

Leave a Reply

